Dry Shampoo: Minger or Winner?

My first ever introduction to dry shampoo must have been at least 6 years ago: a dear friend of mine would would skulk into the toilets each lunch time, without fail, and give her fringe a blast with dry shampoo. She told me that it got greasy during the day. I would nod and pretend to understand what was going on.

It didn’t register with me until July 2012 that dry shampoo may well be a great little time saver. Prompted by Superdrug’s half price offer, I committed to my first ever dry shampoo purchase: I’ve not once looked back. I only wish I had discovered this whist I was still at university…

Last week, for the first time in many years, I managed to go for 4 days without washing my hair (hush hush, don’t judge!). Dry shampoo has been ground-breaking for me. A quick spritz of this and alas, my hair can last another day without being washed. Spray the dry shampoo onto a comb with some hairspray, and run through the roots immediately. Job done. 20 minutes extra in bed: I owe you Batiste Dry Shampoo.

Canned saviour: Batiste.

I’m not sure about you, but even though I’m a fan of dry shampoo, I’m in two minds: is it really gross, or just really handy?  On one hand it’s great that hair can be left unwashed for longer, giving it a rest from daily washing and styling. On the other hand however, I wonder if the build-up of dry shampoo over a few days just as bad as washing it each day? I don’t know the answer to this question, but I am thrilled that I can give my hair a break from being washed every day.

Vote below and share your thoughts below!

Leave a Reply

