5 Summer Saviours

Now that our non-existent summer is almost over, here’s a quick recap of my top 5 summer skincare essentials.  Whilst our summer has been fairly non-existent, these have been my go-to-guys over the warmer months. I’m starting to realise that I may have an odd obsession with moisturiser…

1. L’Occitane Brightening Moisture Mask: I’m a big fan of L’Occitane all round, but this product really exceeded my expectations. This is a brightening mask, presumably to ‘brighten’ your skin. It has all sorts of magical sounding ingredients, such as bellis perennis (A.k.a. a type of European daisy) and immortelle (another word for the plant everlasting). This mask has a really great texture, it feels like a cream when it goes on but also almost gel like: it’s terribly all confusing for the senses. You put it on with your finger tips and massage it around your face, after 5-10 minutes remove any excess with a cotton pad. I normally only use face masks because they are relaxing and the ultimate girly wind-down, but this mask really did leave my skin looking and feeling great. I don’t have that much of a problem with dry skin (despite my clear obsession with moisturiser), but it just left my skin feeling plump and healthy. I’ll definitely re-purchase this one once I’ve finished with it! Cost £39 for 125ml.

L’Occitane Brightening Moisture Mask.

2. Alpha-H Tripple Action Cleanser: I thought my friend Laura was crazy when she told me that her cleanser cost her £42 for a single bottle – that was until I tried it for myself! Alpha-H’s Tripple Action Cleanser is designed to replace your make-up remover, face wash and toner. It’s a pretty big promise. The main ingredients in the product are cucumber, aloe vera and thyme – the cleanser smells great and isn’t too soapy. I find with anything that promises so much on the jar that it is either too soapy or doesn’t perform on one of it’s promises. Alpha-H delivers! It effectively removes make-up (permitting you’ve not shovelled it on with a garden trowel) without too much effort. It certainly washes your face. I find this much more effective than traditional cleansers, my skins feels silky after use. A combination of the long life of this product combined with the fact that I only need one product is definitely a winner. For weekend trips and travels, decant some of this into a little miniature travel pump and you’re good to go. The only other thing you’ll need is your moisturiser: job done! Cost £42 for 500ml.

Alpha-H Tripple Action Cleanser.

3. Pure Fiji Exotic Oil:  I initially tried this in a sample size but have returned to buy a full size bottle. This stuff is a great all rounder for home and holiday use. Pure Fiji, you guessed it – is made in Fiji. This particular edition combines virgin coconut oil and nut extracts. It smells sweet and summery, like really rich vanilla ice-cream. However, this smell doesn’t really fade so don’t bother trying to put any perfume on! This bottled genius can be used on skin and hair. It’s really good for dry skin or hair that’s been in the sea or pool for too long. Use it for prevention AND cure with your hair: pop some on before you swim or use it as a mask after the days assault. It’ll take a good thorough shampoo to get the stuff out but it’s definitely worth the effort. I use this oil on the ends of my hair every 2-3 nights to keep them smooth and glossy. If you have dry skin anywhere or sorry-looking cuticles, just massage this oil right on and let it do its thing. Fiji oil can also be used as the base for an exfoliator – just put some salt or sugar (depending on how much exfoliation is required!) and use a mitt to buff off any dead skin. Charming, I know! Cost £26.50 for 235ml.

Pure Fiji Exotic Oil.

4. Clinique Moisture Surge: There’s not too much to say about this but FINALLY! Finally there’s a great facial moisturiser that isn’t too oily and doesn’t require masses to have an effect. Only a tiny bit of this need be applied after cleansing to achieve a plump, dewy feel to your face. It gives a great base to put your foundation on too. This stuff is great permitting you’re not too heavy handed with it, and is also a very reasonable cost given how long it lasts for. Cost £32 for 50ml.

Clinique’s Moisture Surge.

5.  Superdrug’s Own Vitamin E Intense Moisture Cream: I can honestly say this is one of the best moisturisers that I have ever used! It smells great, doesn’t make me break out in spots, it doesn’t leave my skin greasy and is very reasonably priced! I is rich in Vitamin E, make of that what you will. I bought this moisturiser on a whim because it smelled good, but my goodness I have not looked back! I use this moisturiser on my hands, body and face: it really is multi-purpose. I could sing the praises of this moisturiser until dawn, but I won’t. Basically, it’s superb value for money and is a very effective moisturiser for face and body. Cost £3 for 100ml.

Superdrug’s Vitamin E Cream.

What were your top summer products?

2 thoughts on “5 Summer Saviours

  1. Pingback: The Face Mask of Fire! Embarrassing Video Included. | BeautyJunkMe

  2. Pingback: 5 Summer Saviours | The Horn

Leave a Reply

