Changing Faces #1

So, here is the first post in a new series that I will run from now on: Changing Faces. Changing Faces has been designed to show you a range of make-up looks. I’m no make-up artist and yes I still enjoy putting too much blusher on, but this series will allow you to see what looks good, what doesn’t and which looks to avoid! The good, the bad and the ugly as it were.

I’m not going to stick to looks that just look pretty. I”ll re-do common mistakes and try out some bold new looks. I’ll more than likely make a pigs ear of some of these looks and look ridiculous with others, but I can live with that.  I’ll note each item of make-up and how I apply it in hope that you (as well as I) will get some new make-up ideas.

This first Face is a fresh summer evening look, the red lips paired with the dark eyes make it a little over the top for daytime. If you’re doing a bold red lip, go easy on the eye make-up! I think this is quite a fresh take on evening make-up as it’s not too heavy or matt. But hey, that’s just me.

A bit close.

So, starting with the base make-up I used Estee Lauder’s Double Wear Foundation. I’m not sure which colour it is as it’s just a sample. I’m still deciding if I want to commit to a whole bottle! As my make-up brushes are with my friends at the opposite side of London, I used my fingers to put it on. Normally it’s advisable to use a brush or blender, but using your fingers isn’t a disaster.

Under my eyes I used a Jelly Pong Pong Illuminating Cream (currently being re-branded as ‘So Susan’). This cream is part of a palette of 3 eye-related products: I have used all 3 for this look. I normally go for YSL’s Touch Eclat but it’s hanging out with my make-up brushes elsewhere. I applied the Illuminating Cream with my finger (gasp!).

On my eye-lids I used Boots No7’s Stay Perfect Eyeshadow in Truffle. I had to stop myself going overboard with the eyeshadow as it’s just too tempting to build a deeper colour. I used a bit of this to add some colour to my eye-lids and only took it as far as the crease. I applied it with a regular eyeshadow applicator. I’m yet to invest in some brushes!

My eyeliner is Max Factor’s Glide and Define in Black/Brown. I find that black liquid liners can often be too harsh and look a bit artificial (not that I’m exactly going ‘au natural’). I apply my liquid liner with my eyes open, starting from the inside and working my way out. Most people have perfected their own way of doing their liquid liner, so if it’s not broke – don’t fix it!

The mascara that I’m wearing here is Lancome’s Hypnose Mascara in Black. I apply the mascara from the base of my lashes to the tips. How unusual.

To give you a better idea of my eye make-up.

To highlight my brow bones I’ve used Jelly Pong Pong’s Highlighting Cream. Again, I used my fingers to apply this. With both of the Jelly Pong Pong creams they stick feel a bit tacky after application so it would be advisable to put some loose powder over the top to reduce any shine (which you can clearly see here I have not done!).

For my brows I used Jelly Pong Pong’s Eyebrow Sculptor. This eyebrow sculptor has brown, green and burgundy in it. Sounds odd? Agreed. When you take a little of all three, it adds a little more definition to the brows without getting full on, black Scouse brows. You know what I’m talking about.

For my cheeks I used Bourjois Paris’s Blush Pot in Number 16 (Rose Coup De Foudre). The colour of this is quite soft, permitting you don’t pile it on so can be worn for pretty much everything. This blusher smells like lovehearts sweets, which is an added bonus for me! I smile when I apply my blusher, adding it to the apples of my cheeks and working it up and outwards towards the temples. To avoid taking the blusher too close to your nose, pop two fingers next to your nose and work out from there, you’ll end up looking like a clown otherwise.

For my lips I used Chanel’s Rouge Coco Shine in the daring shade 63 (Rebelle). I wouldn’t have naturally chosen to purchase this colour but after being given it as a gift, I’ve actually fallen in love with it!  I get great feedback whenever I wear this shade. This is a really great red because it’s bold but still quite a warm colour. There are more orange hues in this lipstick that blues, which makes it more of a summer lipstick as it’s much fresher than the darker, bluey-reds. I put some foundation on my lips before I apply this just so that I have an even colour all over to work from. I’m not sure if this is a common practise or not but it seems to do the trick. I don’t apply this with brushes, I just use it straight from the tube.

As my foundation is a little pale for my skin, I bronzed up a little with Superdrug’s Bronzing Pearls. These pearls are great as they last for a long time. I’ve had my pearls for around 3 years now (don’t judge me!) and the only time I’ve really noticed them going down is when I’ve spilled them. I applied the bronzer with a fluffy brush.

As you can see my forehead is a bit shiny looking (which doesn’t bother me greatly), if you want a more matt look add some loose powder. Apply lightly with a fluffy brush.

So, hopefully this will help you see what I think is quite an ‘easy’ look. Yes you’ve made an effort but no you’ve not taken hours blending and so on. This is quite a good date look as it’s not too made-up that it’s intimidating or creating an optical illusion. If you’re looking to hide your face, then why don’t you just get some face-paint instead? Of course everyone is different, so adapt and adjust as necessary. What do you think of this look?

A (very) close up!

A Quick Product Summary…

Face: Estee Lauder’s Double Wear foundation; Bourjois Paris’s Blush Pot in Number 16 (Rose Coup De Foudre); Superdrug’s Bronzing Pearls

Eyes: Jelly Pong Pong Illuminating Cream; Boots No7’s Stay Perfect Eyeshadow in Truffle; Jelly Pong Pong’s Highlighting Cream; Max Factor’s Glide and Define in Black/Brown; Lancome’s Hypnose Mascara in Black

Brows: Jelly Pong Pong’s Eyebrow Sculptor.

Lips: Chanel’s Rouge Coco Shine shade 63 (Rebelle)

Leave a Reply

