Getting Lippy

Even with my staff discount, my Crème de la Mer lip balm  – or rather ‘Baume de la Mer’ – purchase felt fairly extravagant, but surely after all the stories of the miracles it could perform it would be worth it? No.

The ingredients of this balm, as with all Crème de la Mer products, are a safely guarded secret. When I asked the Sales Associate I heard faint mutterings about sea kelp and a full moon. Curious, I was keen to see what all the fuss was about.

The packaging is very simple and subtly designed, though the outer box is not so dissimilar from that of Clinique’s products. The actual balm itself is in a frosted green plastic tub with a mirrored lid, on which Crème de la Mer is quietly sported. Not unpleasant, not spectacular.

On first application my initial thoughts were regarding the taste. I know I’m not supposed to eat the balm but it does have a sneaky way of working its way onto my taste buds! This balm has a sweet menthol taste, not unpleasant at all but not wildly dissimilar to that of toothpaste. I hadn’t lost hope yet…

Crème de la Mer’s balm has a nice consistency, thin enough to spread easily but thick enough to hang around for a while. The balm gives a gentle and natural sheen to the lips so is a nice alternative to lip-gloss, but I don’t think this property can only be found exclusively with Crème de la Mer.

While I’ve not noticed any negative effects from this balm, I’ve definitely not been wowed. My expectations were high when purchasing this product – the price point alone would make anyone believe that a miracle was on the horizon but I haven’t noticed my lips looking any more like Angelina Jolie’s, or any improvement on my normal lips. Sob.

Perhaps the issue with me using it is that I’m applying it to perfectly healthy lips. I’ve not had any problems (touch wood!) with dry or flaky lips at all this year so maybe it’s an unfair trial. I’ll enjoy using this balm to the end of the tub, and continue to tell myself that it’s my own little slice of luxury. But in reality, I think there are better products on the market for a much more modest price to be enjoyed!

Me and the pot.

One thought on “Getting Lippy

Leave a Reply

